Q:

Do vegetarians eat fish?

A:

Quick Answer

Some vegetarians do eat fish. There are several types of vegetarian diets that are defined by what varieties of foods are consumed, including vegan, lacto-vegetarian, ovo-vegetarian, lacto-ovo-vegetarian and pescetarians.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Vegans are strict vegetarians that do not eat any foods that come from animals. Their protein sources may be soy, legumes or nuts. On top of a vegan diet, lacto-vegetarians add milk, ovo-vegetarians include eggs and lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat both. These vegetarians do eat animal products as long as they are not made from animal flesh. Pesco-vegetarians, also referred to as pescetarians, are the ones who eat seafood in addition to the foods eaten in the other vegetarian regimens.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore