Q:

What are some vegan substitutes for gelatin?

A:

Quick Answer

Some vegan substitutes for gelatin include agar, carrageenan and Vegan Jel. Vegans and vegetarians cannot use gelatin in cooking because it is made from animal collagen.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Agar is made of cooked and pressed algae and is often an ingredient in firm jellies and Asian desserts. One teaspoon of agar powder is equivalent to 1 teaspoon of gelatin.

Carrageenan is an extract of dried seaweed and is an ingredient in some vegan Kosher gel products. Carrageenan is a good sustitute for gelatin in jellies, puddings, mousses and ice cream.

Vegal Jel is made of vegetable gum, adipic acid, tapioca dextrin, calcium phosphate and potassium citrate. One-and-a-half teaspoons of Vegan Jel is equivalent to 1 teaspoon of gelatin.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets
Sources:

Related Questions

Explore