Q:

Do tortilla chips have gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Tortilla chips made of 100 percent corn with oil and salt contain no gluten. Some tortilla chips list barley, wheat or rye; chips containing these ingredients likely contain gluten.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Corn is naturally gluten-free and may be consumed freely by people on gluten-free diets. Celiac disease, which is exacerbated by gluten, affects the autoimmune digestive systems of about 3 million Americans, as of 2014, according to the U.S. FDA. Foods to avoid on a gluten-free diet are wheat, including kamut and spelt; barley; rye; bulgur; semolina; triticale; graham flour; high-protein flour; pastry flour; wheat bran, flour and germ; malt extract and flavoring; food starches that aren't named; and some oats that are not labeled "gluten-free."

Learn more about Nutritional Content
Sources:

Related Questions

Explore