Q:

Does tapioca contain gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Tapioca, also known as manioc, is a gluten-free starch. It is derived from the cassava plant and is often used in conjunction with other gluten-free flours.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Tapioca is used in a variety of foods; the most common use is for pudding. The distinctive pearls are also used in a popular Asian tea known as bubble tea. Tapioca can be ground in a coffee or spice grinder and used as a thickening agent in gravies or soups. Some grocers sell a flake or powdered form of tapioca for use in baking. Dry tapioca can be stored for long periods of time in the proper conditions.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore