Q:

Does soy have gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Soy does not contain gluten; it is naturally gluten-free. To ensure that a product made with soy, such as soy sauce, has not been contaminated with other sources of gluten, look for a label on the product explicitly stating that the product is gluten-free.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

In addition to soy, other grains and starches that are gluten-free include amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, cornmeal, flax, millet, quinoa, rice, sorghum, tapioca and teff. People who are gluten-sensitive should always avoid wheat, rye and barley products including malts, semolina and spelt, graham, bulgur, durum, farina and kamut. Unprocessed beans, nuts, seeds, fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. Most dairy products are gluten-free, as are fresh eggs and fresh meats without breading, marinade or batter.

Learn more about Nutritional Content
Sources:

Related Questions

Explore