Is Rye Flour a Gluten-Free Product?


Quick Answer

Rye flour and other food products that contain rye are not gluten-free. While gluten is most commonly associated with wheat, it is also found in barley, rye and a rye-wheat hybrid called triticale.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Gluten is a naturally occurring protein that is hard for some people to digest, including those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Commonly available gluten-free options for flours include rice flour, sorghum flour, tapioca flour, fava bean flour and quinoa flour. Gluten-free substitutes for all-purpose cooking flour often contain a blend of these ingredients. These flours can be used to prepare just about any baked good, including cakes, cookies and sweet breakfast foods. However, using gluten-free flour may require additional recipe modifications, such as the inclusion of xanthan gum, which is a component of many gluten-free baking recipes.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions