Q:

Is quinoa grain suitable for a gluten-free diet?

A:

Quick Answer

Pure quinoa is gluten free and recent studies have shown that celiac patients improve on a diet that contains quinoa. However, some products that have quinoa in them might not be gluten-free, so it is important to check the ingredient list.

Continue Reading
Is quinoa grain suitable for a gluten-free diet?
Credit: net_efekt CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

Quinoa is recommended as a grain replacement for those on a gluten-free diet. It can be made into a warm cereal, like oatmeal, or used in a chilled grain salad. Quinoa is a pseudocereal, which means it is not actually a grain. Rather, it is a seed from a plant related to spinach. Quinoa has a high percentage of protein, as well as a significant amount of calcium, fiber and iron.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore