Q:

Do potatoes have gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Whole, natural potatoes are gluten-free and are safe for people who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Every type of potato in the world is naturally gluten-free.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Potatoes that are unprocessed are gluten-free; however, processed potatoes often have added gluten and are not safe for patients with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Potato flour is also gluten-free and can be used in baked goods or as a substitute for wheat flour in many recipes. Other naturally gluten-free foods include all fruits and vegetables, beans, seeds and nuts, fresh eggs, most dairy products and fresh meats. Gluten is typically found in barley, rye and wheat flours.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore