Q:

What is a pescetarian?

A:

Quick Answer

Pescatarians or pesco-vegetarians are people who avoid eating meat except for fish and other kinds of seafood. The pescatarian diet also includes milk, eggs, fruits, legumes, whole grains and vegetables.

Continue Reading
What is a pescetarian?
Credit: Anna Pekunova Moment Getty Images

Full Answer

Strict vegetarians avoid all fish, meat and poultry. Pescatarians are classified as partial vegetarians, according to Harvard Women’s Health Watch. Pollo-vegetarians also belong to this sub-group. Pollo-vegetarians include small amounts of poultry into their plant-based diet. Other forms of vegetarians include lacto-ovo vegetarians and vegans. Lacto-ovo vegetarians don’t eat meat, but they do consume eggs and milk-based products. Vegans, on the other hand, don’t eat any meat or products derived from meat such as eggs, milk, cheese and gelatin.

Learn more about Diet Plans

Related Questions

PEOPLE SEARCH FOR

Explore