Do Oats Contain Gluten?


Quick Answer

Scientific studies have shown that oats do not contain gluten, according to The University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center. Oats have no relation to gluten-containing grains such as wheat and barley and are considered safe for over 99 percent of individuals who suffer from celiac disease.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

While oats are considered gluten-free, there is always the chance of cross contamination with wheat during processing or growing procedures, according to the Whole Grains Council. It is important for individuals with gluten sensitivity issues to consult with a physician before consuming oats to ensure that they are an acceptable addition to their diets. Additional gluten-free grains include millet, buckwheat and sorghum.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions