Although considered a grain by many, quinoa is actually a seed that comes from a vegetable related to spinach, beets and Swiss chard. It is a good source of protein and riboflavin. Because it is a seed and not related to wheat or grains, it is free of gluten and suitable for people with celiac disease.
Quinoa was cultivated by the Inca in South America for over 5,000 years as a staple food. It was referred to as the "mother seed," and considered sacred. It was not discovered by Americans until the 1980s, when two people began growing it in Colorado.Learn more about Nutritional Content