What Is a Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian?


Quick Answer

According to Princeton University, a lacto-ovo vegetarian is a person who doesn't consume animal flesh of any kind but does consume eggs and dairy products. In Western cultures, this is the most common form of vegetarianism.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Princeton University notes that the term "lacto-ovo" comes from the Latin word lacto, which means "milk," and ovo, which means "egg." When a person refers to oneself as a "vegetarian," it's generally assumed that the person chooses to consume eggs and milk. A person who doesn't eat eggs or dairy products is commonly referred to as "vegan." People who choose a vegan lifestyle often avoid using animal products of any kind, including leather, fur or wool.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions