The only ingredient in unflavored Benefiber powder is wheat dextrin, a soluble fiber extracted from wheat starch. It is widely used to add fiber to processed foods. Benefiber comes in several different forms, each with a variety of ingredients.Continue Reading
The ingredients in Benefiber's orange powder are wheat dextrin, citric acid, natural orange flavor, potassium citrate, aspartame, gum acacia, acesulfame potassium, maltodextrin, lactose, triglycerides, sucrose acetate isobutyrate, modified cornstarch, yellow 6 and red 40. Benefiber's orange powder is also available with added calcium, which comes in the form of calcium gluconate and calcium lactate.
Benefiber is also available in a chewable or caplet form. The ingredients in Benefiber Fruit Chewables are wheat dextrin, sorbitol, cornstarch, microcrystalline cellulose, dextrates, citric acid, natural and artificial flavor (soy), magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, sucralose, aspartame, acesulfame potassium, red 40 lake, yellow 6 lake and blue 1 lake.
The ingredients in Benefiber Caplets are wheat dextrin, microcrystalline cellulose, magnesium stearate and colloidal silicon dioxide. Because all three forms of Benefiber contain less than 20 parts per million gluten, they are considered gluten-free.
Benefiber Plus Heart Health Powder is available with added vitamins B-6, B-12 and folic acid and can promote a healthy heart, according to Novartis, the manufacturer of Benefiber. These ingredients are wheat dextrin, modified food starch, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, sodium citrate, citric acid, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, sorbic acid and cyanocobalamin.
Most flavors of Benefiber chewables contain phenylalanine, which can trigger allergic reactions in some people.Learn more about Vitamins & Supplements