Q:

Does ice cream contain gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Whether ice cream contains gluten depends on the flavor and brand selected. It is best to read the label, while keeping in mind that gluten cross-contamination is possible if the ice cream is produced on the same production line as food that contains gluten.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

As of 2014, certain ice cream brands, such as Breyer's and Turkey Hill Dairy, label their gluten-free flavors. Other brands, such as Dreyer's, Edy's and So Delicious, offer gluten information on their websites. Ben & Jerry's states that it specifically lists any ingredients containing wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye or malt on its labels. As of 2014, Blue Bell uses wheat as a thickener for some flavors, such as its chocolate ice cream.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore