Animal-based sources of iron for an individual on a gluten-free diet include liver, red meat, poultry and fish, while plant-based sources include nuts, seeds, beans, quinoa and teff, according to Gluten-Free Living. It is also important for gluten-free dieters to take measures for increasing the absorption of the iron.
One way to increase the absorption of iron is to pair iron-rich foods with foods high in Vitamin C, such as peppers, citrus, berries and other fruits or vegetables, explains Gluten-Free Living. Substituting chips and crackers with nuts and seeds can help as well.
More than half of the people diagnosed with celiac disease have iron deficiency anemia, notes Gluten-Free Living. Iron is considered an essential nutrient because it binds and transports oxygen throughout the body. Low iron levels may lead to fatigue, weakness, irritability, headaches or difficulty concentrating.
People who are gluten-intolerant typically have trouble absorbing a number of important nutrients other than iron, explains Gluten-Free Living. The consumption of green leafy vegetables is recommended for calcium deficiency; sunshine boosts low Vitamin D levels; and gluten-free whole grains such as brown rice and wild rice are good sources of B vitamins, as are gluten-free oatmeal, quinoa and buckwheat. It is important to work with a physician to address nutritional deficiencies.