A gluten-free diet for individuals who do not have celiac disease can actually be less healthy than a diet that incorporates gluten, according to WebMD. Food items that contain gluten, such as wheat and whole grains, often have other nutritious elements that the body needs, including minerals and B vitamins.
Individuals who suspect they may have gluten sensitivity should be tested, recommends WebMD. The bulk of gluten-free diets are composed of lean meats, fish, fruits, vegetables and low-fat dairy. Quinoa and amaranth are grains that do not contain gluten and are safe for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. While it is possible to have a healthy diet without gluten, this type of diet can be more prone to excess calories, cholesterol and saturated fat.