Is Halal the Same As Kosher?


Quick Answer

While there are similarities between Halal and Kosher as they are both religious based dietary guidelines for the adherents of Islam and Judaism, there are some major differences between the two. The major difference is that Kosher pertains strictly to Jewish dietary matters, while Halal goes beyond dietary laws.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Halal is often used to describe Islamic dietary laws, but it can be used to refer to anything in the world permitted by Islam. In terms of dietary laws, Halal forbids all alcohol consumption, while Kosher allows the consumption of alcohols that are certified to be Kosher. Some seafood such as shellfish that has lived its entire life in the water is allowed in Halal, while shellfish is forbidden in Kosher.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions