Q:

Which grains are gluten free?

A:

Quick Answer

Grains that are gluten-free include amaranth, teff, millet, buckwheat and quinoa. Amaranth isn't a real cereal grain but is used in the same way. It is ground to make flour, flaked or even popped like popcorn.

Continue Reading
Which grains are gluten free?
Credit: Ervins Strauhmanis CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

Amaranth has 251 calories from a 246-gram serving. It has no saturated fat, transfat or cholesterol. It has 46 grams of total carbohydrate including 5 grams of dietary fiber. It has a good amount of vitamin B6 and folate, and is rich in magnesium, phosphorus and especially manganese.

Teff is a tiny grain that's native to Ethiopia. It is high in minerals, especially calcium and iron, and has good amounts of amino acids. It has a nutty taste and can be used in place of cornmeal.

Millet has a mild taste and is cooked very much like rice. Like rice, it swells up a great deal in the presence of water. It's also used as an ingredient in salads and as a substitute for ground meat.

Like amaranth, buckwheat is not a real cereal grain, but a seed. It is used to make pancakes and udon noodles. It's a good source of manganese, copper, magnesium, phosphorus and dietary fiber.

Quinoa, also a false grain, needs to be washed to cleanse it of its biter taste. It is nutritious, quick to prepare and often used as a breakfast food or substitute for rice.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore