What Grains Have Gluten?


Quick Answer

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley and a barley/wheat cross that is known as triticale, according to Mayo Clinic. People who are sensitive to gluten can eat a gluten-free diet to minimize symptoms.

Continue Reading
What Grains Have Gluten?
Credit: Christian Schnettelker CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

People with celiac disease eat a gluten-free diet as part of a treatment plan, according to Mayo Clinic. Symptoms of celiac disease occur when gluten found in grains inflames the small intestine. A gluten-free diet involves avoiding all food and drinks that contain rye, wheat and the triticale cross between the two. Barley is also to be avoided, including malt, malt vinegar and malt flavorings. Gluten is found in durum flour, graham flour, farina, semolina, spelt and kamut as well.

Many foods are allowable on a gluten-free diet, including meats, poultry, fish, fruits, vegetables and eggs. Beans, nuts, seeds and most dairy products are also allowed.

Eating a gluten-free diet means avoiding gluten altogether by reading food labels to look for foods with no gluten. Some foods, including oats, contain gluten because they are exposed to wheat during the growing stage or processing of the oats. Unless oats are labeled specifically as gluten-free, they may contain gluten. Other items that may contain gluten include vitamins, supplements and medications that use gluten as a binder.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets
Related Videos

Related Questions