Q:

Is gluten-free Quaker oatmeal good for you?

A:

Quick Answer

Oatmeal is a healthy food option shown to reduce LDL cholesterol. Gluten-free oatmeal is pure oatmeal not exposed to other grains, such as barley, rye or wheat, during the manufacturing process.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Oatmeal in its purest form is always gluten-free, but since farmers and companies that process food grow a number of grains, traditional oatmeal is often cross-contaminated with these grains during growth or in the factory. Manufacturers make gluten-free oatmeal using grains not exposed to other grains in the field or in their plants.

Gluten-free oatmeal is a good choice for many people with celiac disease. However, a small number of people also react to oatmeal in the same way they react to other grains.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore