Q:

Is there gluten in potatoes?

A:

Quick Answer

Potatoes are gluten free. Many potato recipes are not gluten free, so people with gluten sensitivities must be careful about how potatoes are prepared. Baked potatoes, french fries and mashed potatoes made at home without gluten ingredients are safest. Gluten-free potato flour and potato starch are labeled as gluten free.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

French fries in a restaurant may or may not have been fried in oil that previously fried gluten-containing foods. Many restaurants now have gluten-free menus and staff trained in cross-contamination, so asking for fries to be made gluten free is a possibility. In the store, checking labels on all packaged foods, including potatoes, provides the best information about gluten content.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore