Q:

What is gluten found in?

A:

Quick Answer

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley and foods made with these grains. Processed foods that contain gluten include pasta, couscous, bread, flour tacos, cookies, cakes, muffins, pastry, cereal, crackers, beer, oats, gravy, and some dressings and sauces, according to the American Diabetes Association.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Gluten is a protein that causes inflammation in the small intestines of people with celiac disease. Wheat products containing gluten may be labeled with various names, such as bulgur, durum, farina, graham, kamut, semolina and spelt. Oats do not naturally contain gluten, but they can be contaminated during processing. Other products that may contain gluten include food additives, such as malt flavoring and starches, medications and vitamins, according to WebMD, which advises consumers to check with the manufacturer when in doubt. Gluten can also be an ingredient in soup broth, bread crumbs, croutons, some candies, fried foods, imitation fish, lunch meats, hot dogs, matzo, modified food starch, chips, snack foods, salad dressings, self-basting turkeys, soy sauce, and seasoned rice and pasta mixes.

A variety of nutritious food is available that does not contain gluten, including beans, seeds, nuts, eggs, fruits, vegetables, most dairy products, meats, and fish or poultry without batter or dressing, according to Mayo Clinic. Gluten-free grains include amaranth, corn, quinoa, rice, arrowroot, buckwheat, flax, millet, soy, tapioca and sorghum.

Learn more about Nutritional Amounts & Limits

Related Questions

Explore