Q:

What are some gluten free foods?

A:

Quick Answer

All fresh fruits and vegetables, fresh meat and seafood, eggs, unprocessed beans, seeds and nuts, whole-grain brown rice, quinoa, amaranth and millet, buckwheat, sorghum, teff, and most plain dairy products are gluten-free. Chickens and turkeys that have been injected with broth can be an exception, so read such labels carefully.

Continue Reading
What are some gluten free foods?
Credit: mikifinn iStock / Getty Images Plus Getty Images

Full Answer

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and triticale. Most people can tolerate it without adverse effects, but people with celiac disease suffer an immune response to gluten that damages the lining of the small intestine and can lead to anemia and osteoporosis. Others are sensitive to gluten and experience gastrointestinal symptoms after ingesting it, although they do not have an immune system response. A physician diagnoses celiac disease or gluten sensitivity only after other possible causes of the symptoms are eliminated.

A gluten-free diet is medically necessary for people with celiac disease and can make life more comfortable for people with gluten sensitivity. People with these disorders should read food labels carefully and avoid any foods containing wheat, barley, rye, triticale, wheat bran, bulgur, cereal binding, semolina, spelt, kamut, malt, malt extract, malt flavoring, graham flour, farro, filler, wheat germ or wheat starch. Oats do not contain gluten but are safe only if labeled "gluten free," meaning that they have not been contaminated by gluten from other grains in the field or the processing plant.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore