Q:

What are some gluten-containing foods to avoid?

A:

Quick Answer

People with allergic reactions to gluten or those with gluten intolerance should avoid foods and beverages that contain wheat, barley, rye and triticale, as recommended by Mayo Clinic. A gluten-free diet is essential for individuals with celiac disease, which is a medical condition that develops due to sensitivity to gluten.

Continue Reading
What are some gluten-containing foods to avoid?
Credit: Bart Everson CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

Gluten is a type of protein that is commonly found in grains. Wheat products, including white flour, durum wheat, graham flour, kamut, spelt and semolina usually contain gluten. Common foods that are wheat-based include pasta, bread, flour tortillas, muffins, pastries, cereals, cakes, cookies, crackers, beer, gravy, malt, salad dressing and sauces, as listed in the American Diabetes Association. These products should completely be avoided unless the product comes with the gluten-free label.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore