Q:

Is gelatin healthy?

A:

Quick Answer

Gelatin has many health-related uses. Gelatin contains collagen, and has been used for weight-loss purposes, to treat osteoarthritis, brittle bones, rheumatoid arthritis and other joint conditions. It is also used to strengthen and improve the condition of hair and bones, as reported by WebMD.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

The collagen found in gelatin has been obtained by boiling the skin, ligaments, tendons and bones of cows and pork in water. As a result, gelatin is not vegan. There are vegan alternatives that are made from agar, which has been derived from seaweed.

The collagen is responsible for the unique texture and properties of gelatin. The flavoring of gelatin is artificially made.

Learn more about Nutritional Content
Sources:

Related Questions

Explore