Q:

Does gelatin contain gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Gelatin does not contain gluten. Gelatin is cooked animal collagen that has been reduced to a protein-rich powder. Similar foods to gelatin, like jellies and jams, are free of gluten as well.

Continue Reading
Does gelatin contain gluten?
Credit: s4xton CC-BY-2.0

Full Answer

Gelatin powder is used to make Jell-O, and is also included in other snack foods such as gummy candies, pudding and marshmallows. Gelatin is also added to stews and soups to make the foods thicker, and is often included in milkshakes and smoothies. Gelatin can also be beneficial for the health of the body. It can improve mobility by lubricating the joints. Gelatin also supports healthy growth of the skin, hair and nails.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore