Q:

What foods can Muslims eat?

A:

Quick Answer

Some of the foods Muslims can eat according to Islamic dietary laws are all vegetables and fruits, milk, yogurt, rice, pasta, grains, fresh beans, lentils and seafood. Islamic dietary laws define food as either halal (permitted) or haram (forbidden).

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Haram foods include any food made with alcohol, canned goods, pork, lobster, cooking oils made with animal fat and any product made with gelatin. Liquor, beer and wine are strictly prohibited, and so are meat and poultry that were not slaughtered according to zabihah, which is ritual slaughter. Zabihah strictly describes how an animal should be killed in order to minimize suffering and be more hygienic.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore