Q:

What are some foods that you can eat when you have celiac disease?

A:

Quick Answer

Highly recommended foods for patients diagnosed with celiac disease include fresh fruits and vegetables, unprocessed meat, fresh seafood, fresh eggs and dairy products, plain legumes and beans, whole grains and certain spices and herbs. These various food choices are typically incorporated into a gluten-free diet, which is the main treatment for celiac disease, states Mayo Clinic.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Celiac disease is a hereditary medical condition that triggers an adverse immune response due to the presence of gluten in the body, explains the United States' National Institutes of Health. This harmful reaction results in damage to the intestinal lining, which prevents essential nutrients from being absorbed, circulated and delivered to the various tissues and organs. A gluten-free diet can restore the function of the small intestine and enable patients to derive adequate nourishment from foods.

Although a gluten-free meal plan may seem restrictive, there is a wide selection of naturally gluten-free foods that are also healthy and delicious. Fruits and vegetables, such as apples, bananas, oranges, grapes, tomatoes, potatoes, cabbage, lettuce, broccoli, celery and carrots, do not contain gluten, based on a list by Colorado State University. Frozen and canned foods, such as berries, corn, peas, mangoes and sorbet, peaches, pears and green beans are also advised for patients with celiac disease.

Fresh beef, pork, poultry, fish and shrimp are also gluten-free. Dairy products without gluten include unprocessed milk, cheese, yogurt, sour cream and butter. Whole grains and starches, such as amaranth, quinoa, millet, cornmeal, buckwheat, flax, sorghum, tapioca, soy and teff, are also important sources of nutrients for those on a gluten-free diet.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore