Q:

What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian?

A:

Quick Answer

A vegetarian is a person who does not eat flesh taken from a once-living creature. A vegan is a type of vegetarian who does not consume any animal products.

Continue Reading
What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian?
Credit: Jupiterimages Photolibrary Getty Images

Full Answer

Vegetarians rely chiefly on plant foods for survival, but there are different types of vegetarianism. A lacto-ovo-vegetarian uses dairy products and eggs in their diet. A lacto-vegetarian eats dairy products, but does not eat eggs. An ovo-vegetarian eats eggs but not dairy products. Vegans do not use dairy, eggs or any other animal products.

People become vegetarians for different reasons. Many vegetarians believe that a plant-based diet is healthier than a diet that relies on meat. Others feel that using animal products puts too great a strain on the environment. Many vegetarians cite animal cruelty as a reason for not eating meat.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore