No cure for celiac disease has been found as of 2015, according to WebMD, but the disease can be managed with a gluten-free diet. People with this condition must stay on this diet for the rest of their lives to avoid flare-ups.
Gluten is an umbrella term for proteins that are found in such foodstuffs as wheat, barley and rye, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation. It may be difficult to avoid because it's found in a great variety of foods, some of which a person might not imagine had any gluten. Among these unexpected foods are energy bars, candies, cold cuts, soy sauce, meat substitutes and eggs served at restaurants. These eggs might be fortified with pancake batter.
Certain drugs, vitamin and herb supplements may also contain gluten, states the Celiac Disease Foundation. This is important because some individuals with celiac disease are deficient in certain vitamins and require supplements. They should be careful to read the labels on supplements to make sure they are gluten free. Some people with celiac disease can't even tolerate cross-contact with cooking utensils that have been exposed to these proteins.
The good news is that most celiac sufferers see improvement in their symptoms very quickly after they start a gluten-free diet, reports WebMD.