Can Vegetarians Eat Seafood?


Quick Answer

According to Ask Dr. Sears, there are several types of vegetarian diets, some of which allow seafood. Pesco-vegetarians eat everything except meat and poultry, including fish, dairy products, eggs and plant foods.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Some strict vegetarian diets do not allow seafood at all. Ask Dr. Sears states that a vegan does not eat any food that comes from animals, including meat, poultry, fish, dairy and eggs. Lacto-vegetarians do not consume meat, poultry or eggs, but they do consume dairy products. Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat everything that lacto-vegetarians eat, but they also eat eggs. Semi-vegetarians follow a mostly lacto-ovo vegeterian diet, but they do occasionally eat poultry or fish.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions