Can I Have Pepsi Products on a Gluten-Free Diet?


Quick Answer

It is safe to drink Pepsi carbonated soft drink products if you are on a gluten-free diet. According to the company, there is no gluten in any soft drink produced in its North American facilities, notes Gluten-Free Living magazine.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Not all soft drinks are gluten-free. The offending ingredient is typically the caramel coloring, but the coloring in Pepsi sodas is not derived from wheat, oats, barley, rye, spelt or triticale, according to Gluten-Free Living.

These same guarantees do not necessarily apply to drinks produced in foreign countries where the recipe may be different. In other cases, the soda recipe might not have gluten in it, but it may be produced in a facility where it could be exposed to gluten, notes About.com.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions