Q:

Can Paleo dieters eat beans?

A:

Quick Answer

Paleo dieters cannot eat beans, peanuts or other legumes. The diet also excludes grains, dairy products, potatoes and sugar. Some versions of the paleo diet exclude vegetable oil, while others encourage eating some vegetable or seed oils.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Paleo diets consist of meat, seafood, fruits, vegetables, eggs and non-legume nuts and seeds. They discourage the consumption of carbohydrates, processed foods and salt. This is intended to emulate the diets eaten by humans more than 10,000 years ago.

While they eliminate grains and other forms of refined carbohydrates, paleo diets do not limit the consumption of natural carbohydrates found in fruits and vegetables. This differentiates paleo diets from more traditional low-carbohydrate diets.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

Explore