Many online resources provide lists of gluten-free items, such as Mayo Clinic and the Celiac Disease Foundation website, celiac.org. Some store websites provide list- of the specific products they carry that are gluten-free, such as Trader Joes and Whole Foods.Continue Reading
Mayo Clinic's list of gluten free products describes all the foods that people who are eating a gluten-free diet can consume. Some of these items include meat and eggs, as well as fruits and vegetables. The website also describes foods to avoid, which include all wheat products and foods that do not have the label gluten-free. This list also warns people of cross-contamination, which occurs when foods that do not contain gluten come into contact with those that do. This can happen during the manufacturing process, at home or at restaurants.
The list that the Celiac Disease Foundation provides is similar to the Mayo Clinic list, but also discusses products that are gluten-free substitutes and explains that wheat-free does not mean gluten-free. While most beverages are gluten-free, some drinks are not. For example, beer comes from grains that contain gluten, so it is not gluten-free. Not all medications and vitamins are gluten-free, so it is important to read the labels.Learn more about Nutritional Content