Q:

Does brown rice contain gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Brown rice does not contain gluten. Other types of rice, including white, black, long-grain and wild varieties, are also gluten free. Glutinous rice, known for its sticky texture and sweet taste, is also gluten free.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Some prepackaged rice mixes may include soy sauce, a wheat thickener or barley flavoring, which would cause the rice dish to include gluten. Gluten is the protein in wheat endosperm. It can also be found in rye, barley and other grains. Some people have a gluten intolerance, which causes stomach distress when the individual consumes foods with gluten, and other symptoms can include joint pain, diarrhea and fatigue.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore