Q:

Is bran gluten free?

A:

Quick Answer

Bran is present in many different types of grain, including rice, corn, wheat, oats, barley and millet. Some of these grains are gluten free, and some are not.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Bran is the hard, outer shell present in many grains. It is often produced as a by-product during the manufacturing process for refined consumer products. Bran has many health benefits as it is the part of the grain that contains large amounts of fiber, along with essential fatty acids, starch, protein, vitamins and minerals. However, the essential fatty acid content can make it susceptible to rancidity, and bran is often heat-treated to stop this happening.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore