Q:

Is balsamic vinegar gluten free?

A:

Quick Answer

Balsamic vinegar is considered a gluten-free food. Other kinds of vinegar are made from grains which contain gluten, but balsamic vinegar is made from pressed grapes. Grapes are naturally gluten-free. In addition, the distillation process for maturing vinegar removes gluten even from grain-based vinegars.

Continue Reading
Is balsamic vinegar gluten free?
Credit: resonant CC-BY-2.0

Full Answer

The only kinds of vinegar which do contain an appreciable amount of gluten are malt vinegars and enhanced vinegars. These contain additives from gluten-containing sources, such as barley, to impart flavor. The flavorings are added after the distillation process. Most other vinegars, including balsamic vinegar, contain gluten in amounts well below the 20-parts-per-million threshold used in the United States and internationally to classify foods as gluten-free.

Learn more about Nutritional Content

Related Questions

Explore