Q:

What are some facts about workers' comp in Florida?

A:

Quick Answer

In Florida, construction industry employers with at least one full or part-time employee must maintain workers' compensation coverage, and before subcontractors perform work, they must provide construction contractors with proof of workers' compensation coverage or a certificate of election to be exempt, according to Florida's Chief Financial Officer's Division of Workers' Compensation. Employers who are not in the construction industry but employ at least four full or part-time employees must also maintain workers' compensation coverage as of 2015.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

In addition, farmers with six or more regular employees and/or 12 or more seasonal workers for more than 30 days must obtain workers' compensation coverage, explains Florida's Chief Financial Officer's Division of Workers' Compensation.

Employers are obligated to provide medical treatment for injured employees through insurance carriers, notes Florida's Chief Financial Officer's Division of Workers' Compensation. Coverage includes all authorized medically necessary care and treatment for the employees' injuries, such as doctor's and hospital visits, therapy, prescription drugs, prostheses and mileage reimbursement for medically related travel.

Injured employees may be entitled to either temporary total or temporary partial disability benefits payments for up to 104 weeks to compensate for lost wages while they recover, reports Florida's Chief Financial Officer's Division of Workers' Compensation. Temporary total benefits payments for injured employees equal 66 2/3 percent of their regular wages at the time of injury. Employees can receive temporary partial disability benefits if they return to work with restrictions but cannot earn 80 percent of their pre-injury wages.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

Explore