Wisconsin state laws require individuals intending to carry concealed firearms in their vehicles or on their bodies to first obtain the relevant permits, explains Criminal Defense Lawyer. However, these statutes exempt individuals bearing hidden firearms within their homes, properties and businesses from this requirement.Continue Reading
As of June 2015, Wisconsin state regulations require prospective concealed carry permit applicants to meet certain criteria, according to Criminal Defense Lawyer. They must be allowed to own weapons under federal and state laws, should be residing in the state, must be at least 21 years old and should provide evidence of having successfully completed a firearm safety and training course. They are also required to submit license and background check fees during the application process.
As of June 2015, Wisconsin state laws prescribe fines of up to $10,000 dollars and jail terms not exceeding nine months for individuals bearing hidden weapons in prohibited locations without permits, explains Criminal Defense Lawyer. The offence is a Class A misdemeanor in the state.
As of June 2015, Wisconsin's concealed carry permits are recognized by a number of other states, notes the National Rifle Association's Institute for Legislative Action. These include Alaska, Montana and Idaho.
As of June 2015, Wisconsin state laws require the relevant state authorities to issue concealed carry permits to anyone who meets the required criteria, according to the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. This is contrast to states such as California, Indiana and Oregon, which allow issuing authorities varying degrees of discretion.Learn more about Guns & Weapons Laws