A Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia is the highest of the misdemeanor classifications in that state. It is punishable by up to 12 months in jail, as opposed to prison, and subjects the offender to a fine of up to $2,500.Continue Reading
Class 1 misdemeanors constitute the most common misdemeanors in the state of Virginia. As of 2015, some examples of these offenses include possession of marijuana, petty larceny, stalking and writing bad checks. Several driving offenses are classified as Class 1 misdemeanors, including driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, driving with a suspended license and reckless driving.
Any jail sentence received for commission of a Class 1 misdemeanor is generally spent in a county facility managed by a local sheriff's department. The sentencing judge typically has discretion as to the length of the jail sentence to be served, up to the one-year maximum, and all or part of the sentence may be suspended.
A Class 1 misdemeanor may be expunged from a defendant's record if he is acquitted and has no prior criminal record. An exception to this is when the commonwealth attorney can show good cause as to why the petition for expungement should not be granted.
Class 1 misdemeanors are categorized as being lesser offenses than the six classes of felonies under Virginia law.Learn more about Crime
Possessing drug paraphernalia in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor, and selling or delivering drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor, as of 2015. A person caught possessing or selling drug paraphernalia faces up to two years in prison and a $10,000 fine, depending on the circumstances.Full Answer >
A class C misdemeanor can vary in definition depending on a state's particular laws, but in general this type of offense is used to categorize petty crimes such as shoplifting. Additionally, a class C misdemeanor usually results in a fine or jail time of less than 1 year.Full Answer >
A crime is classified as an unlawful activity by the state, such as a felony or misdemeanor, while deviance is nonobservance of the norms set by the majority of society. Deviance can be criminal or noncriminal, whereas crimes are all deemed as criminal.Full Answer >
In Virginia, a class U felony is a felony that is unclassified. This type of felony charge is for offenses that don't fall neatly under the first six official felony classes. A defendant may be charged with an unclassified felony for crimes such as grand larceny, robbery and rape. Some types of drug charges can also be considered unclassified. Fines and penalties under class U felonies vary.Full Answer >