The penalties for illegally parking in a disabled parking space depend on the state where the offense occurred. As of 2015, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles states that illegally parking in a disabled space usually results in a $250 fine. Able-bodied drivers who use a disabled person's placard to park face a $1,000 fine or a maximum jail sentence of six months.Continue Reading
Illegally parking in a disabled space in Massachusetts results in a fine of $25 to $100, up to a maximum range of $100 to $300, according to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. Local authorities may also remove the vehicle from the space.
In New York state, illegally parking in a disabled space results in a $50 to $150 fine, reports the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. The DMV also assesses an additional $30 surcharge.
For illegal parking or using a disabled-parking placard in Washington state, the fine is $250 plus a $200 assessment that goes to a fund for disabled transportation, according to the state legislature when it passed the law in 2014.
Nevada assesses a $250 fine for the first illegal parking offense, according to the state's legislature. The second offense results in a $250 fine and eight to 50 hours of community service. The total fine is $500 to $1,000, and the period of community service is 25 to 100 hours for additional illegal parking offenses.Learn more about Driving Laws