Q:

What is a third degree felony in Texas?

A:

Quick Answer

A third degree felony is a crime that carries a penalty of 2 to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. Some examples of third degree felonies in Texas include possession of 5 to 50 pounds of marijuana and a drive-by shooting with no injury.

Continue Reading
What is a third degree felony in Texas?
Credit: Sean Gallup Getty Images News Getty Images

Full Answer

Theft of property valued at $20,000 or more (but less than $100,000) is also an example of a third degree felony.

It is possible to get probation in place of a prison sentence. Conditions of probation may include completing a rehabilitation program, community service or up to 180 days of incarceration in a county jail.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is third degree grand larceny?

    A:

    Grand larceny in the third degree is a serious theft charge that may, according to LegalMatch, also be called grand theft of the third degree depending on the jurisdiction. Each state decides how much stolen money, goods or property is necessary to qualify for this charge, but it commonly entails thousands of dollars. Most jurisdictions throughout the United States consider grand larceny in any degree a felony offense.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What happens if you commit fraud?

    A:

    Prosecution, fines or imprisonment may be the penalty for committing fraud. The seriousness of the penalties depend on the type of fraud, the laws of the state where it was committed and the facts of the case as presented in a court of law.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the definition of "reclusion perpetua"?

    A:

    "Reclusion perpetua," or "permanent imprisonment," is a crime sentence similar to life imprisonment. It is used in the Philippines. A person sentenced to reclusion perpetua must serve a jail term of at least 30 years and face additional penalties.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the sentence for receiving stolen property in the state of Ohio?

    A:

    The sentence for receiving stolen goods in the state of Ohio varies depending on if the crime is a misdemeanor or a felony. For example, a felony conviction for receiving stolen property in the third degree can carry a prison term of one to five years and a $10,000 fine.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore