Q:

What are some things you can do when you turn 18?

A:

Quick Answer

According to the Alaska Bar Association, when an individual reaches the age of 18, he can marry, vote, buy tobacco products, engage in consensual sex, join the military, work full-time, apply for loans and credit and get piercings and tattoos. The National Conference of State Legislatures explains that rules vary from state-to-state, but most states consider an individual an adult at age 18.

Know More

Full Answer

As an adult, the individual has all of the rights and responsibilities as other adults, notes the National Conference of State Legislatures. If an adult signs a contract for indebtedness, the individual is held responsible for that debt. There are greater penalties and repercussions for an adult who commits a criminal offense than for a minor who commits the same offense.

The only activity prohibited at age 18 is the purchase and consumption of alcoholic beverages. Another activity legal in certain states, possession of marijuana, is generally prohibited before the age of 21, reports NBC News.

A mandated activity upon reaching adulthood is registration with the Selective Service within 30 days of a man's 18th birthday. The Selective Service System drafts men into the military, but the system has not been used to draft anyone since 1973, according to U.S. government expert Robert Longley for About.com.

Learn more about Legal Ages

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is the legal age for children to stay home alone overnight?

    A:

    In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is there an age limit for jury duty?

    A:

    There is no upper age limit for jurors at the state or federal level; courts only require that jurors be 18 years of age or older. However, some courts may exclude persons 70 years of age and older from the selection process.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What age can children ride in the front seat of a car?

    A:

    According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, children 12 years of age or younger should not ride in the front seat. In the event of an accident, airbags can injure or kill young children.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the age limit at the House of Blues for kids?

    A:

    As of 2014, the general rules concerning age limits for shows at the House of Blues is that persons must be 18 or older with a valid identification card. Certain shows are restricted to people 21 years and older. Individual locations can be contacted to verify age restrictions.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore