Q:

What is the Texas statute on felony theft?

A:

Quick Answer

The Texas statute on felony theft includes first, second and third degree felonies and state jail felonies. The type and value of stolen property determines the crime's classification, and such cases are under jurisdiction of the district court.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Felony theft carries a $10,000 fine plus jail time. State jail felony includes theft of property valued at more than $1,500 but less than $20,000, grave theft and firearm theft. Third degree felony includes property valued at more than $20,000 but less than $100,000. Second degree felony includes property valued at more than $100,000 but less than $200,000, and first degree felony is theft of property valued at more than $200,000. Possible jail time ranges from 180 days for state jail felonies to 99 years for first degree theft.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

Explore