Texas bigamy laws prevent the act of marrying someone while already married to someone else. As of 2014, bigamy is not only illegal in Texas, but it is also against the law in every state of the United States and is punishable by a penalty of up to 5 years in prison.Continue Reading
Although the Mormon religion originally permitted polygamy, which is the practice of having more than one wife, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in 1878 that having more than one wife was a violation of criminal law and that practicing polygamy was not an exercise in religious liberty. Notably, polygamy is legal in some countries, including Somalia, Saudi Arabia and South Africa.
Under the Texas Penal Code Section 25.01, a person is guilty of bigamy when he is legally married and purports to marry or marries someone other than his spouse, lives with a person other than his spouse under the appearance of being married or knows that a married person other than his spouse is married and purports to marry that person. The offense is a third-degree felony under most conditions, but can be enhanced to first degree felony status if the person with whom the person commits bigamy with is under the age of 16.Learn more about Law
Worker's compensation laws in Texas include chapter 406, subsection 32, which states the conditions under which a company is not liable for coverage, chapter 451 which prohibits discrimination or retaliation against employees who take out claims and chapter 408, section 102 which states the laws on the amount of benefits an employee can claim, as stated by Texas.gov. Texas is a state which does not require employers to have worker's compensation insurance for their employees.Full Answer >
In Texas, emancipation laws allow minors to become emancipated if they are entering into marriage, if they are joining the military, or if a minor requests emancipation and a court grants the request. The legal age of majority in Texas is 18.Full Answer >
Texas probate laws include the independent administration of an estate, which allows executors to wrap up an estate's affairs with minimal court supervision, according to Nolo. The small estate law allows people inheriting property of an estate valued at $50,000 or less to prepare an affidavit to collect the property.Full Answer >
As of 2015, Texas laws related to domestic violence specify that a threat of force or the actual use of force that results in bodily injury constitutes a crime, according to FindLaw. Those who provoke or initiate offensive physical contact may be guilty of domestic violence. Domestic violence laws apply to spouses, related individuals, people in dating relationships and people living in the same household.Full Answer >