What is the statute of limitations for a bad check in the state of Florida?


Quick Answer

In the state of Florida, the statute of limitations for a bad check written for merchandise or services varies depending upon the value of the check. If the check was for less than $150, there is a two-year cut-off from the date on the check. If the amount on the check was $150 or more, the upper limit is three years from the check's date.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

The statute of limitations on worthless checks intended for rent, account payments or debts is two years from the date written on the check. Any claims against bad checks need to be entered into the legal system at least six months before these time limits.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions