On Jan. 1, 2015, Florida state statutes governing the minimum wage and the use of child car seats went into effect. Other state statutes went into effect on July 1, including laws pertaining to sales tax and adoption by gay couples.Continue Reading
On Jan. 1, 2015, the minimum wage in Florida increased from $7.93 an hour to $8.05 an hour. The state also updated its laws to state that children age 5 and younger must ride in a car seat or booster seat when in a motor vehicle. Previously, Florida had required this only of children age 3 or younger.
On July 1, 2015, Florida stopped collecting sales tax on gun club memberships, college textbooks and aviation fuel, among other items. The state also lowered taxes for cellphone and cable television bills, and ended the ban on the ability of gay couples to adopt children. On the same date, Florida made it illegal to use drones to take pictures that infringe on the privacy of others, and also passed a law prohibiting the use of ticket quotas by local law enforcement agencies.
Other laws that went into effect in Florida in 2015 involved term limits for Public Service Commissioners and regulations for the use of drugs in racing animals.Learn more about US Government