Speeding ticket costs generally depend on the circumstances, with factors such as the location of the violation, total miles per hour over the limit, and the type of driver's license adding to a base fine, according to DMV.org. The calculations vary between states, and sometimes within the states themselves.
The final cost of a speeding ticket can be much higher than the base fine amount, depending on the state's policies. For example, as of 2015, California drivers face a number of different state fees and a final surcharge of 20 percent of the total if caught speeding, states DMV.org. Massachusetts drivers, on the other hand, face a single $50 surcharge for traveling 10 miles per hour over the speed limit, along with a $50 "head injury" surcharge, according to the National Motorists Association. The cost increases $10 for every additional 10 miles per hour over the speed limit.