Operators of commercial snow-plowing equipment in Michigan are required to have a yellow or amber light that is visible for at least 500 feet in all directions, according to the Michigan legislature. Penalties include up to 90 days in jail or $500 fine.Continue Reading
Sibley County, Minnesota, and Minnesota law considers as a misdemeanor the plowing of snow from a private property onto public or another private property, according to Sibley County's website. Punishment includes a maximum of 90 days in jail or $1,000 fine for the first offense. Subsequent offenses carry a mandatory $400 fine.
Delaware requires public and commercial snowplow operators to possess a commercial driver's license, according to the Delaware Department of Transportation. New Jersey law prohibits commercial snow plowers from dumping snow from private property onto streets or other public property, states the website of Willingboro, New Jersey. A $250 fine is assessed for the first violation and $500 for subsequent violations.
Utah law states that commercial plows with blades greater than 8.5 feet wide must be equipped with a rotating yellow beacon light, according to the Utah Department of Administrative Services. Plows with blades of less than 12 feet in width operate without oversize permits if lighting and blade requirements are satisfied.Learn more about Law