What Is the Sentence for Receiving Stolen Property in the State of Ohio?

What Is the Sentence for Receiving Stolen Property in the State of Ohio?

The sentence for receiving stolen goods in the state of Ohio varies depending on if the crime is a misdemeanor or a felony. For example, a felony conviction for receiving stolen property in the third degree can carry a prison term of one to five years and a $10,000 fine.

If the value of the stolen property involved exceeds $1.5 million, the sentence can range from three to 11 years in prison with a fine of $20,000. The maximum that a misdemeanor charge can result in is a sentence of 180 days in prison and a $1,000 fine. Felonies and misdemeanors are broken down into degrees of severity, and sentences depend on the degree of the charge.